Artist/Model Moniasse Shows Us The Beauty of Scarification

moniasse2My name is Laurence Sessou aka ‘Moniasse’ I was born in France and my roots are from the West African Republic of Benin. I am a Neuromuscular Therapist and artist/model based in London UK. I went to Westminster University and graduated in 2007 with a degree in Natural Therapeutics. I have always been fascinated by the human body and art. When I started my degree, I didn’t think I was going to become a therapist, I had a genuine fascination and interest for the human body and healing.

I enjoyed my studies and have become a successful therapist for the past 10 years. My journey with modelling is fairly new. It started 3 years ago in Mexico, my friends thought I should give it a go, they set up a photo shoot with a professional photographer and the journey began. Before I carry on further, I would like to say that in ‘no’ way am I sharing my journey to influence anyone into getting scarifications. It is a strong process and not for everyone, my scars are not a fashion statement nor a trend. I am fully responsible for my choice and I don’t want to send the wrong message. Again, I am only ‘sharing’ my story with you and I hope you enjoy it.

Read the full story via FEATURE: An exploration of scarification, with artist/model Moniasse – AFROPUNK.

Leave a Reply

