“Mommy, where do stories come from?” – How my first novel, Hello Diva was conceived.

Author, Dana Ellington Myles, talks hair loss and self-esteem in her novel, Hello Diva.

Dana Ellington, MAPW

Creatives are often asked what inspired them to create a certain piece.  I find myself inspired in so many ways, but mostly by what happens in my day-to-day living.

Today’s post was inspired by the same thing that inspired me to write my first full length novel “Hello Diva“, and that is, my hair loss.  If you aren’t aware, let me tell you, hair is a major source of self-esteem in the Black community. How your hair looks can make or break how you’re perceived and treated. With the advancement of hair extensions, weave and wig techniques, and more open dialog about redefining beauty standards, today’s Black woman can rock any length, texture, or style she so chooses (as is evidenced by this beautiful collage at Black Girls Allowed).  As long as you HAVE hair, all is basically right with the world. As a kid, my hair was…

View original post 2,801 more words

One thought on ““Mommy, where do stories come from?” – How my first novel, Hello Diva was conceived.

Leave a Reply

